Putting things in perspective

One down, five more to go (or three if I’m lucky).

I’m slowly getting used to my crutches after a week in them. I think my arms are getting a bit stronger, although I’m still concerned that the reduction in physical activity will mean that I’ll gain quite a bit of weight in the coming weeks.

I haven’t gone crazy being cooped up at home yet – though to be fair I’ve thus far had 2 trips to the hospital (following my initial visit to the A&E) and was down in Tyrone at the weekend. In other words, I have left the house since my injury and haven’t been stuck indoors.

The real test will probably come on Friday – when I usually have Japanese class, ballet and coffee to round up the week – and I may not be faring so well then, especially since it looks like I will be missing my friend’s wedding too. I’d like to go but haven’t managed to be comfortable sitting for more than an hour without having my leg propped up, and the journey to and from Galgorm itself will probably be more than my leg can handle.

That said, I’ve been thinking over the past few days that in spite of my current situation, I shouldn’t get too upset or frustrated as there’s still plenty to be thankful for. Such as:

  • My injury isn’t, in the grand scheme of things, all that bad. The taxi driver I met coming home from the hospital on Friday was out for 6 months due to a torn tendon.
  • I do not live alone and have someone to look after me and do the things I can’t quite do on my own.
  • I still have arms to hold crutches with and a leg to stand on.
  • Thanks to ballet, I’ve a strong ankle and good balance and flexibility, which makes standing on one leg a lot easier.
  • I’m fortunate enough to be able to work from home and am spared the hassle and effort of getting into work on crutches.
  • The Internet has bestowed me with plenty of ways in which I can occupy my time at home.
  • More time at home also means more reading to be done. (Somehow this is progressing slowly though. I blame the point above.)

So yes, I need to remind myself of these when I’m feeling down about my situation – I just need to put things in perspective!

Leave a Reply

